The RoHS directive, codified as Directive 2011/65/EU and amended by Directives 2015/863/EU and (EU) 2017/2102, concerns the restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment.

Application of the RoHS Directive is required for all electrical and electronic equipment as part of the CE certification of the product.

The first version of the RoHS directive was published in 2002. Subsequently the directive underwent changes which mainly expanded the types of equipment subject to these restrictions and the substances to be considered dangerous.

The directive currently applies to the following product categories:

  • Large appliances
  • Small appliances
  • IT and telecommunications equipment
  • Consumer equipment
  • Lighting equipment
  • Electrical and electronic tools
  • Toys and equipment for leisure and sports
  • Medical devices, control and monitoring instruments
  • In vitro diagnostic medical devices
  • Monitoring and control instruments including industrial ones
  • Vending machines
  • Other electrical and electronic equipment not included in the categories listed above

The list of restricted substances is as follows:

  • Lead (0.1 %)
  • Mercury (0.1 %)
  • Cadmium (0.01 %)
  • Hexavalent Chromium (0.1 %)
  • Polybrominated biphenyls (PBB) (0.1 %)
  • Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) (0.1 %)
  • Bis(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP) (0.1 %)
  • Benzylbutyl phthalate (BBP) (0.1 %)
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP) (0.1 %)
  • Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP) (0.1 %)

The maximum concentration by weight tolerated in the various homogeneous materials constituting the product is indicated in brackets.


Sicom Testing can provide a complete RoHS product certification and compliance consultancy service.

Our service starts here